Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join NASW
Social Work Licensing FAQs
Share |

Do I need permission from the Utah licensing board before I take my exam?

YES, after July 1, 2010 you will need preapproval from DOPL to register for the ASWB exam.  If you are applying before July 1, 2010, you can register and take the exam without permission from DOPL.

When can I take the exam?

You are eligible to take the exam after your degree is CONFERRED and POSTED.  Clear all fees, fines and obligations with your university or college!

What if I do not pass the exam?

You are eligible for a six month temporary CSW intern license.  Apply for the CSW-i license.  The hours you accumulate with the intern license cannot be applied toward licensure as an LCSW.

If I do not pass the exam, when can I retake it?

You can retake the exam in 90 days.

How many questions are on the exam?

There are 170 multiple choice questions, only 150 of the 170 are scored.  The remaining 20 are pre-test questions (basically, they are being tested for possible inclusion in a future exam).  You have 4 hours.

Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely
Calendar

Utah Chapter, NASW
University of Utah, College of Social Work Room 229
395 South 1500 East • SLC, UT 84112
Phone: 801-583-8855 • Email: office.naswUT@socialworkers.org